The Four Seasons

The Four Seasons is by far Vivaldi's most famous piece. Each season has a concerto that describes it in the music. A concerto is a piece of music that is like a conversation between the orchestra and a solo instrument or a small solo group. Vivaldi LOVED writing concertos. He wrote more than 500 of them! Concertos have three movements or parts. The first is fast, the second slow and the third fast again. Vivaldi based The Four Seasons on some sonnets or poems that he wrote. Click here to see the the text of the poems.

There have been so many different performances of The Four Seasons that we have created a video channel dedicated to performances and animations. They are by order of season and the list of videos is below.


  • Itzhak Perlman

  • Vivaldi Explained Animation

  • Sand Animation

  • Electronic Animation

  • Orchestra of St. Luke's Animation


  • Julian Rachlin

  • Vivaldi Explained Animation

  • Score Animation

  • Sand Animation

  • David Garrett Solo

  • David Garrett Rock version

  • Orchestra of St. Luke's Animation


  • Frederieke Saeijs

  • Sand Animation

  • Orchestra of St. Luke's Animation


  • Cynthia Freivogel and Voices of Music  

  • Piano Guys with Frozen

  • Sand Animation

  • Three Computer Animations

  • David Garrett

  • Orchestra of St. Luke's Animation

Autumn Lesson Plan

There are many many lesson plans about The Four Seasons and we've provided links to them below. They tend to focus on Spring, Summer and Winter. The season that seems to be the least popular is Autumn so we will provide a lesson plan here .

The third movement of Autumn is in Rondo form (ABACADAEAFA). The words in the A section on this listening map fit the general melody of the A section in the piece. (The melody and words are in the lesson plan) Have the students circle "solo" or "tutti" in each section depending on what they hear. (The A section is always tutti).

Another activity for this piece is this Autumn Book which gives students a chance to create artwork that matches the form of the piece.

Contact Us

© 2018 by Frannie Goldstein                               

Proudly created with